The Fentress County Historical Society is recognized and operates as a 501c3 Public Charity Organization under Internal Revenue Service rules. Contributions to the Society are federal tax deductible under section 170 of the Code.
The Society holds eleven monthly meetings each year, January through November. The July meeting is designated as the Annual Meeting, with new officers and directors being nominated, elected and installed. Guest speakers are enlisted as appropriate for the monthly meetings.
The business of the Society is conducted by the officers and directors, with reports given to the membership each month. The Board of Directors (officers and directors) elects a chairman at their first meeting following the Annual Meeting each year and plans their work. Meetings of the Board of Directors are held as deemed necessary, but at least quarterly.
The Society functions between meetings through the use of Standing and Special Committees. These committees are appointed by the President in August of each year and make reports to the membership as appropriate for their duties, as contained in the Society’s Bylaws.

Officers for 2015-16 are as follows:

Debbie Delk


Willie Beaty

2nd Vice President

Mary Robbins

3rd Vice President

Martha Wiley


Barbara Wright


Wanda Hatfield

Newsletter Editor

Mike Wood


Lorene Cargile

Director 2017

Thomas Potter

Director 2017

Kathy Williams


Joyce Crouch

Director 2018

Helen Sells